Skip to content

S.C. Board of Health and Environmental Control

DHEC is a state agency whose operations are overseen by the S.C. Board of Health and Environmental Control. The Board consists of eight members, one from each congressional district, and a Chairman from the state at large appointed by the Governor, upon the advice and consent of the S.C. Senate. The seven congressional district Board seats have staggered four-year terms.

The Board is empowered to make, adopt, disseminate and enforce reasonable rules and regulations for the promotion of public health and the reduction, control and prevention of pollution.  For a complete description of the Board's legal authority and makeup, please see S.C. Code of Laws, Section 44-1-20.

Board Members

Board Meetings

Monthly board meetings are held at 10:00 a.m. on the second Thursday of each month, unless otherwise announced by public notice. The regular monthly meetings are open to the public and are held in the Board Room of the S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control: DHEC headquarters, Room 3420, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, S.C. 29201.

Meeting Dates for 2016*

Thursday, January 7 (first Thursday)
Thursday, February 11
Thursday, March 10
Thursday, April 7 (first Thursday) (canceled)
Thursday, May 12
Thursday, June 9
Thursday, July 14 (canceled)
Thursday, August 11  
Thursday, September 8
Thursday, October 13
Thursday, November 10
Thursday, December 8

*Date, time or locations may change if necessary. Public notice will be given.

Latest Agenda (pdf)
Live Stream of Board Meeting
Minutes of Past Meetings

Contact

If you have a comment or question for the Board, please email boardclerk@dhec.sc.gov  or write to the Board at DHEC, 2600 Bull St., Columbia, S.C.29201.