Skip to content

March 18, 2012

DHEC reopens several shellfish growing areas in Beaufort County

COLUMBIA, S.C. - The S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control has reopened several approved shellfish growing areas in Beaufort County.

"These areas have been reopened because water quality sampling results indicate bacteria levels are suitable for clam and oyster growing," said Mike Pearson, manager of DHEC's Shellfish Sanitation program.

The areas include all approved shellfish growing locations of Area 16A, including portions of the Coosaw River, Morgan River, Eddings Creek, Coffin Creek, Lucy Creek, and Jenkins Creek. The Conditionally Approved Area around Dataw Island will remain closed. A map of all Shellfish Growing Areas in South Carolina can be found here.

For more information on clam and oyster harvesting areas in Beaufort County, call DHEC's Region 8 Environmental Quality Control office at (843) 846-1030. For information on Georgetown and Horry counties' clam and oyster harvesting areas, call DHEC's Region 6 EQC office at (843) 238-4378. For more information on Charleston County clam and oyster harvesting areas, call DHEC's Region 7 EQC office at (843) 953-0160.


For media inquiries:
Jim Beasley - (803) 898-7769
Email -