Skip to content

Where to Apply

In the coming months, six newly-permitted MS4 programs will begin implementation of the Construction Site Runoff Control and Post-Construction Stormwater Management Minimum Control Measures (MCMs) required in their permits. These MCMs require that each MS4 develop, implement, and enforce a program to reduce pollutants in stormwater runoff from land-disturbing activities. Each program must include provisions for the review of Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plans (SWPPPs) for construction activities occurring within their jurisdiction. On the dates noted below, SWPPPs and applications for construction activities must be submitted to the MS4s and receive approval from them prior to DHEC's issuance of coverage under the NPDES Construction General Permit. For projects located in Beaufort County, requests for NPDES Construction permit coverage and Coastal Zone Consistency (CZC) Certification can be submitted to DHEC concurrently with application to the MS4 should this be necessary to expedite permitting times.  

A general flow chart for this process is available via the following link

The schedule for implementation for each of these MS4s is:



Beaufort County (Unincorporated Areas)*

July 1, 2017

Town of Bluffton*

July 1, 2017

Town of Hilton Head Island*

July 1, 2017

City of Clemson

September 1, 2017

Clemson University

September 1, 2017

Lancaster County (North of SC 5 and extending east to North Carolina state line)

December 31, 2017

Addresses and contact information for all MS4 programs can be found by visiting:

*  CZC Determinations are required for projects located within these jurisdictions.

Click a county on the map to download the contact information

Stormwater Map Jasper County Beaufort County Hampton County Allendale County Colleton County Charleston County Dorchester County Berkeley Georgetown County Barnwell County Bamberg County Orangeburg County Calhoun County Williamsburg County Horry County Marion County Florence County Aiken County Clarendon County Sumter County Lee County Darlington County Dillon County Marlboro County Chesterfield County Kershaw County Lancaster County Richland County Lexington County Edgefield County McCormick County Saluda County Greenwood County Abbeville County Laurens County Newberry County Fairfield County Chester County Anderson County Oconee County Pickens County Greenville County Spartanburg Union County Cherokee County York County