South Carolina passed legislation in 2010 that banned the disposal of specific electronics in solid waste landfills effective July 1, 2011. The legislation places several requirements on manufacturers including that a manufacturer may not sell consumer television, monitor, computer and or printing devices in South Carolina unless they provide a recovery program for those devices (Section 48-60-50).
In addition, the legislation (Section 48-60-20) outlines registration and recovery requirements for manufacturers of these devices. The requirements are listed below.
Download a complete list (pdf) of manufacturers that have registered.
|Devices Manufactured||Registration Fees*||Take-back Requirements|
|Consumer Computer or Printing Devices||$3,500 individual fee or $20,000 collective fee from Representative Organization||Provide no-charge recovery program, to include mail-back, collection sites or collection events.|
|Consumer Televisions or Consumer Monitors||$3,500 individual fee or $20,000 collective fee from Representative Organization||Individual recycling obligation = 80 percent by weight of SC sales
RO obligation = Recovery of devices from local governments with population share equal to total RO market share.
* A manufacturer of multiple types of devices is required to pay only one annual registration fee.
Registration forms will be made available beginning January 2018 and may be requested at email@example.com. Manufacturers must register not later than February 15, 2018, and will be billed beginning March 1, 2018. Invoices will include payment options and you will have 30 days to submit your fees to the S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control. Registration requirements do not apply to a manufacturer that sold 500 or fewer devices in South Carolina during the prior year.
For the purposes of this statute:
If you have any questions, please contact Woody Barnes or Jana White at firstname.lastname@example.org at 1-800-768-7348.