Skip to content

Great Pee Dee River Basin

Pee Dee RiverThe Great Pee Dee River Basin (hydrologic units 03040201, 03040203, 03040204, 03040207) is located in Marlboro, Chesterfield, Darlington, Florence, Dillon, Marion, Williamsburg, Horry, and Georgetown Counties, and encompasses 22 watersheds and 3,658 square miles within South Carolina, excluding the Lynches River, Black River, and Waccamaw River Basins.  The Great Pee Dee River flows across the Sandhills region to the Upper and Lower Coastal Plain regions and into the Coastal Zone region.  Of the approximately 2.3 million acres, 33.5% is forested wetland, 28.4% is forested land, 26.7% is agricultural land, 6.7% is urban land, 2.7% is nonforested wetland, 1.8% is water, and 0.2% is barren land.  The urban land percentage is comprised chiefly of the Cities of Florence, Darlington, Bennettsville, and Dillon.  In the Great Pee Dee River Basin, there are approximately 4,669 stream miles, 10,864 acres of lake waters, and 17,676 acres of estuarine areas. 
The Great Pee Dee River flows across the North Carolina/South Carolina state line and accepts drainage from Thompson Creek, Crooked Creek, Cedar Creek, Three Creeks, and Black Creek.  The river then accepts drainage from Jeffries Creek, Catfish Creek, the Lynches River Basin, the Little Pee Dee River, the Black River Basin and the Waccamaw River Basin before draining into Winyah Bay. 

For an overview of water quality in the Great Pee Dee River Watershed, download the water quality assessment summary. For specific basin descriptions, facts, figures, and detailed maps click on a watershed below.