Skip to content
News Releases

July 15, 2011

DHEC’s Jasper County Public Health Department temporarily closing

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control’s Jasper County Public Health Department will temporarily end services effective 5 p.m. on July 20, the agency announced today.

“Jasper County officials have provided us with a report that states the health department building at 359 East Wilson Street in Ridgeland is a safety hazard,” said John Simkovich, interim public health director for DHEC’s Region 8, which serves Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper counties. “Our first priority is the safety of our staff and the people that use our facility.”

Simkovich said the building will reopen as soon as Jasper County determines the necessary repairs have been completed.

In the interim, residents can receive services at any of DHEC’s public health departments in surrounding counties:

  • Bluffton Public Health Center, 4819 Bluffton Parkway, Bluffton
  • Hampton County Public Health Department, 531 Carolina Avenue West, Varnville
  • Colleton County Public Health Department, 219 S. Lemacks Street, Walterboro
  • Beaufort County Public Health Department, 601 Wilmington Street, Beaufort

Resident should continue to call the central appointment line at 1-888-325-8599 to make or change appointments.


For media inquiries:
Nick Davidson – (843) 525-4028
Email –
Adam Myrick – (803) 898-3884
Email –