Skip to content
Air Quality

Air Pollutants - Particulate Matter (PM) - Standards & Requirements

National Ambient Air Quality Standards for Particulate Matter

Since the first PM National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS, or standard) was established in 1971, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has revised them several times. Using the tabs and links below you can find information on the current PM standard and regulatory actions, as well as a detailed history of the current and previous PM standards.

1987 National Ambient Air Quality Standard for PM (July 1, 1987)
(Primary and Secondary Standards are the same)

  Averaging Time Level (Micrograms per cubic meter)
PM10 24-hour 1 150
Annual 2 60 (Revised in 1997)

1 To meet this standard, no monitor in an area can exceed 150 micrograms per cubic meter more than once per year on average over a 3-year period.

2 To meet this standard, the 3-year average of the annual arithmetic mean of the PM10 levels measured at each monitor within an area cannot exceed 50 micrograms per cubic meter.

History of the 1987 PM Standard

July 1, 1987 EPA published the 1987 PM standard (52 FR 24634). This standard revoked the 1971 Total Suspended Particulate TSP standards and added the 24-hour and annual standards for PM10.

Additional Resources

For more information please contact the Bureau of Air Quality at (803) 898-4123 or by email.