Skip to content
Air Quality

Fuel Combustion Operations

The Bureau of Air Quality (BAQ) develops and issues general permits for similar sources.

Advantages to General Permits

  • A standardized permit providing consistency
  • Simplified application and permit issuance
  • General permits are issued without an additional individual public notice and comment period
  • Pre-determined equipment and emission limit for specific Permit categories

Existing permitted sources may request coverage under a general permit if the permit criteria are met. BAQ grants the general permit to facilities certifying qualification for and agreeing to the conditions and terms of the general permit.

Below is a description of each of the general permits, a link to the list of the current facilities that have been granted coverage of each general permit, a copy of each general permit, and the associated criteria, forms, and other information for each general permit.

Facilities that only have boilers, emergency generators, and non-emergency generators (for example, peak-shaving generators), fuel storage tanks, and ethylene oxide sterilizers (hospitals) may be eligible for a general permit for fuel combustion operations. These facilities can have exempt sources as well that are not fuel combustion sources.


General Conditional Major

Maximum size of a single boiler must be less than 100 million BTU/hr rated input capacity.

Only the following fuels may be used: natural gas, propane, virgin fuel oil (sulfur content equal to or less than 2.1% by weight) and used spec oil as defined in S.C. Regulation 61-62.1, Section I.

SO2 and NOX emissions are limited to less than 100 tons per year each

Reporting/Emission Tools:
Reporting Worksheet/
Supporting Calculations:
Copy of the Permit:
**Note that these copies are provided for use by facilities that have already been granted coverage by the Bureau. Download and use of these permits does not constitute coverage.**
For more information please contact:
Hetal Patel (803) 898-3850

If the operations covered by construction permits are located in one of the eight coastal counties of the Coastal Zone under DHEC-OCRM's jurisdiction (Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry and Jasper), then a coastal zone consistency certification may be required.

For more information please contact the Bureau of Air Quality at (803) 898-4123 or by email.