Skip to content
Air Quality

Hot Mix Asphalt Plants

The Bureau of Air Quality (BAQ) develops and issues general permits for similar sources.

Advantages to General Permits

  • A standardized permit providing consistency
  • Simplified application and permit issuance
  • General permits are issued without an additional individual public notice and comment period
  • Pre-determined equipment and emission limit for specific Permit categories

Existing permitted sources may request coverage under a general permit if the permit criteria are met. BAQ grants the general permit to facilities certifying qualification for and agreeing to the conditions and terms of the general permit.

Below is a description of each of the general permits, a link to the list of the current facilities that have been granted coverage of each general permit, a copy of each general permit, and the associated criteria, forms, and other information for each general permit.

Hot mix, warm mix, and cold mix asphalt plants may be eligible for a general permit if they only operate asphalt concrete production and the only sources of emissions, besides exempt equipment, are:

  • systems for drying aggregate;
  • systems for screening, handling, storing, and weighing hot aggregate;
  • systems for receiving, storing, and transferring virgin aggregate;
  • systems for receiving, crushing, screening, storing and transferring non-virgin aggregate;
  • systems for receiving, storing, and transferring asphalt cement;
  • systems for mixing aggregate with asphalt cement;
  • systems for the storing and dispensing of hot mix asphalt;
  • asphalt cement and fuel storage tanks, auxiliary heaters (including hot oil heaters) with a heat input rate less than 10x106 BTU/hr each; and
  • associated emission control systems.
Reporting/Emission Tools:
Copy of the Permit:

General Conditional Major Operating Permit for Hot Mix Asphalt Plants

**Note that these copies are provided for use by facilities that have already been granted coverage by the Bureau. Download and use of these permits does not constitute coverage.**

For more information please contact:
Alyson Hayes (803) 898-3836

If the operations covered by construction permits are located in one of the eight coastal counties of the Coastal Zone under DHEC-OCRM's jurisdiction (Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry and Jasper), then a coastal zone consistency certification may be required.

For more information please contact the Bureau of Air Quality at (803) 898-4123 or by email.