Skip to content
Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems (ECCS)

The five core components of an Early Childhood System include:

  1. Access to Health Care and Medical Homes
    States are aiming to assure access to a “medical home” that can provide comprehensive physical and developmental services for all children, including children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Health outcomes and health services are improved when essential health care services are coordinated through one unit, the medical home.
  2. Social-Emotional Development and Mental Health
    Early childhood mental health refers to the social and emotional health factors that influence young children’s development. Collaborative efforts are essential to identify social, emotional, and behavioral risks and intervene to prevent more serious mental health problems.
  3. Early Care and Education Services
    State maternal and child health agencies are working with partners in child care, Head Start, pre-Kindergarten, and other early learning programs to assure children are healthy and ready to succeed when they enter school.
  4. Parenting Education
    Parenting education is intended to strengthen parents’ and other caregivers’ knowledge about how their actions affect child development and give them skills to help their child’s healthy development and school readiness.
  5. Family Support Services
    The goal of “family support” initiatives is to help parents develop and utilize available intellectual, emotional, and material resources that enable them to nurture and support the healthy development of their children.

Please click here for an overview of South Carolina’s ECCS Implementation Plan (pdf)