
South Carolina Seat Belt Law

South Carolina Law “Section 56-5-6520.”                               

The driver and every occupant of a motor vehicle, when it 
is being operated on the public streets and highways  of this 
state, must wear a fastened safety belt which complies with 
all provisions of federal law for its use. The driver is charged 
with the responsibility of requiring each occupant 17 years 
of age or younger to wear a safety belt or be secured in a 
child restraint system as provided in Article 47 of this chapter. 
However, a driver is not responsible for an occupant 17 years 
of age or younger who has a driver’s license, special restricted 
license, or beginner’s permit and who is not wearing a seat belt; 
such occupant is in violation of this article and must be fined in 
accordance with Section 56-5-6540.”

Some exceptions:  The law does not apply to: 
•	 �A driver or occupant who possesses a written verification 

from a physician that he is unable to wear a safety belt for 
physical or medical reasons; 

•	 �School, church, or day care buses, public transportation 
vehicles except taxis; 

•	 �An occupant for which no safety belt is available because all 
belts are being used by other occupants; 

•	 �Children under 6 years of age who must be properly 
restrained as provided by Article 47, Chapter 5 of Title 56. 
(i.e., in a child safety seat)

•	 �A driver or occupants in a vehicle not originally equipped 
with safety belts.

The primary law gives law enforcement officers the authority 
to stop a driver if the officer has a clear and unobstructed view 
of a driver or occupant of a motor vehicle not wearing a safety 
belt or not secured in a child restraint system.

Violators are subject to a fine not more than $25.  No person 
may be fined more than $50 for any one incident of more than 
one violation.



S.C. Child Passenger 
Safety Seat Law

South Carolina law “Section 56-5-6410. Every driver of a motor 
vehicle (passenger car, pickup truck, van, or recreational 
vehicle) operated on the highways and streets of this State 
when transporting a child 5 years of age or younger upon 
the public streets and highways of the state must provide an 
appropriate child passenger restraint system and must secure 
the child as follows:

•	 �A child from birth up to 1 year of age or who weighs less 
than 20 pounds must be properly secured in a rear-facing 
child safety seat which meets the standards prescribed by 
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 

•	 �A child who is at least 1 year of age but less than 6 years 
of age and who weighs at least 20 pounds but less 
than 40 pounds must be secured in a forward-facing child 
safety seat provided in the motor vehicle which meets the 
standards prescribed by the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration. 

•	 �A child who is at least 1 year of age but less than 6 years 
of age and who weighs at least 40 pounds but not more 
than 80 pounds must be secured by a belt-positioning 
booster seat. The belt-positioning booster seat must be used 
with both lap and shoulder belts. A booster seat must not be 
used with a lap belt alone. 

•	 �If a child is at least 1 year of age but less than 6 years of 
age and weighs more than 80 pounds, the child may be 
restrained in an adult safety belt. If a child less than 6 years 
of age can sit with his back straight against the vehicle seat 
back cushion, with his knees bent over the vehicle’s seat edge 
without slouching, the child may be seated in the regular 
back seat and secured by an adult safety belt. 

•	 �A child who is less than 6 years of age must not occupy 
a front passenger seat of a motor vehicle. This restriction 
does not apply if the motor vehicle does not have rear 
passenger seats or if other children less than 6 years of age 
occupy all rear passenger seats. 

•	 �Violators are subject to a $150 fine. Some exceptions: This law 
does not apply to:  (1) Taxis (2) Church, school and day care 
buses, or (3) Commercial vehicles. 

Child safety seats are the most effective occupant 
protection devices used in motor vehicles today. 
If used correctly, they are 71 percent effective in 
reducing fatalities in children under the age of 5 
and 69 percent effective in reducing the need for 
hospitalization.
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