Vital Records Marriage/Divorce Application
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\ ’d h e C A photocopy of a current government, school or employer photo identification of the applicant must be

submitted with all requests. Applications without proper identification will be returned unprocessed.

Name of applicant: Day phone number:
Address:
City: State: Zip code:

E-mail address:
Note: Mail from Vital Records will not be forwarded by the USPS.

Address certificate to be mailed to if different than applicant’s address:

Name:

Address:

City: State: Zip code;

Your relationship to person named on the certificate? (Check one - will be used to determine entitlement)
Self Adult child Present or former spouse Legal representative (for whom?)

By signing this application, | understand that making a false application for a vital record is a felony under state law.

Signature of applicant:

MARRIAGE
Name of bride:
First Middle Last Suffix
Other married surnames used by bride:
Name of groom:
First Middle Last Suffix
Date of marriage: County where marriage license obtained:

South Carolina
Specify the number and type of certification(s) requested:

Marriage long form ($12) Additional long ($3 each)
Statement of marriage (names, date, and county only -$12) Additional statements ($3 each)
Total fees submitted:

DIVORCE/ANNULMENT
Name of wife:
First Middle Last Suffix
Other married surnames used by wife:
Name of husband:
First Middle Last Suffix
Date of divorce or annulment; County where divorce obtained:
South Carolina
Specify the number and type of certification(s) requested:
Divorce long form ($12) Additional divorce long ($3 each)
Statement of divorce (§12) ____ Additional statements ($3 each)

Total fees submitted:

Send completed application/photocopy of identification to: SC DHEC - Vital Records
2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201

OFFICE USE ONLY SFN: DCN:
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See back for Instructions and Information



Vital Records Application for Marriage and Divorce
Instructions and Information

1) One form may be used to request a certified copy of a marriage license only, or
a report of divorce/annulment only, or for both a marriage license and report of
divorce if for the same couple.

2) Complete all of the information in the top section of the form and all informa-
tion in the marriage and/or divorce sections based upon whether a marriage,
divorce or both certificate(s) are being requested.

Information
MARRIAGES/DIVORCES - The central filing of marriages was not required until July 01, 1950. Marriages prior to that date must be obtained from
the Office of the Probate Judge in the county where the license was obtained. Reports of divorce are available from July 01, 1962 forward.
SCDHEC does not have a copy of the divorce decree. The actual divorce decree must be obtained from the Office of the Clerk of Court in the
county where the final divorce hearing was held.

TURNAROUND TIME - The usual turn around time for ‘Mail’ requests is approximately 7 - 10 days from the date of receipt. The usual turn around
time for ‘waiting’ on-site customers is approximately thirty (30) minutes during non-peak hours (8:30 am - 11:00 am and 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm).

If it has been more than four (4) weeks since you submitted your request, call (803) 898 3630 to determine the status.

IDENTIFICATION - A valid/current government, school or employer issued photo identification document of applicant is required before a search of
the records will be conducted. Requests that do not contain proper identification will be returned unprocessed. Acceptable documents are:
1. Any United States’ DMV Office issued picture identification ie Driver’s License, ID card, Learner’s Permit (unexpired)

2. Current school or employer picture identification card

3. Military card (unexpired — active duty or retired member)

4. United States Passport (unexpired)

5 Foreign Passport (unexpired)

6. Re-Entry Permit (1-327 — unexpired)

7. Refuge Travel Document (form 1-571 — unexpired)

8. United States Citizen Identification Card (form [-197)

9. Temporary Resident Card (form |-688 — unexpired)

10. Permanent Resident Card (form |-551 — unexpired)

11. Weapon or gun permit issued by federal, state or municipal government (unexpired)

WEBSITE - www.scdhec.gov/vr/ provides additional information on SC Vital Records.

PAYMENT - Acceptable methods of payment for mail requests are a money order or cashier’s check made payable to SC DHEC. Onsite customer
service also accepts credit and debit cards and cash.

SEARCH FEE - A $12 “search fee” is required by law. The $12 search fee is non-refundable. The required search fee includes one (1) certifica-
tion, if record is located. If additional copies of the same type certification are ordered at the same time, additional copies are $3 each.
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