Electronics Recycling Representative Organization

South Carolina Manufacturer Clearinghouse

E-Waste Program Plan for 2024

September 1, 2023

Program Plan Contents

- 1. Point of Contact Information
- 2. List of Each Opt-In County
- 3. Locations of Each Site/Event in Each Opt-In County (Exhibit B)
- 4. Recoverers to Be Used (Exhibit B)
- 5. Deviation from the Standard Program Collection Site Distribution (Exhibit C)
- 6. Allocation Methodology Certification
- 7. List of Manufacturers Participating in the Clearinghouse
- 8. Exhibit A: 2024 ERRO South Carolina Manufacturer Clearinghouse Program Rules
- 9. Exhibit B: 2024 SC Clearinghouse Collection Sites/Events and Recyclers
- 10. Exhibit C: Email Confirmations of Deviations from Standard Program Collection Site Distribution

1. Point of Contact Information

The point of contact for the Electronics Recycling Representative Organization ("ERRO") Manufacturer Clearinghouse is:

Jason Linnell Executive Director National Center for Electronics Recycling 161 Studio Lane Vienna, WV 26105 Office: 304-699-1008 Cell: 304-374-8144 jlinnell@electronicsrecycling.org

2. List of Each Opt-In County

South Carolina DHEC and ERRO distributed a form in April 2023 to eligible South Carolina counties and municipalities to opt-in to the manufacturer program under the revised SC Law for 2024. As a result of this process, 19 units of government elected to participate in the program. Below is a listing of the counties who filed opt-in forms. The ERRO Manufacturer Clearinghouse worked on the operation and development of a plan for 2024, using the Rules (Exhibit A) for how manufacturers would divide the responsibility for providing programs to those opt-in counties. Manufacturers had the option to participate through a "group plan" if their obligation percentage was over 1%. All manufacturers decided to fulfill their recycling responsibilities through one of five Group Plans. ERRO assigned registered Group Plans to each County as noted below. Group Plans submitted collection sites or events to cover the minimum required under SC Law or made other arrangements with the County. The attached Exhibit B notes which sites/events were selected that either meets/exceeds the minimum number required, or notes deviations with County agreements.

County	ERRO -Assigned Group Plan	Required Minimum Number of Sites per SC Law
Abbeville	ERI	1
Aiken	Greenchip	2
Anderson	MRM	3
Beaufort	MRM	2
Charleston	MRM	3
Chester	Dynamic	1
Georgetown	MRM	1
Greenwood	Greenchip	1
Hampton	ERI	1
Horry	MRM	3
Kershaw	Greenchip	1
Laurens	MRM	1
Lexington	Dynamic	3
Newberry	RLG	1

County	ERRO -Assigned Group Plan	Required Minimum Number of Sites per SC LAW
Spartanburg	Dynamic	3
Sumter	Dynamic	2
Union	Dynamic	1
York	MRM	3

3. Locations of Each Site/Event in Each Opt-In County

The ERRO Administrator has assigned each of the above Counties to one of five registered Group Plans working directly with a recoverer or recoverers, or who are recoverers themselves. The ERRO Administrator attempted to honor existing relationships and preferences in the assignments – including those noted on the County opt-in forms - while balancing each collective group's obligation percentage described in Section 6 below. The list of each collection site/event for each opt-in county is included in the attached Exhibit B. For several Counties, the actual date and location of collection events has yet to be determined, but the city and number of events agreed to by its assigned Group Plan is noted wherever possible.

4. Recoverers to Be Used

The list of recoverers to be used by all Group Plans in the Clearinghouse is included in Exhibit B along with the collection locations. In some cases, multiple recyclers are noted. In all cases, Group Plans under the Clearinghouse understand that recoverers must be registered and meet the requirements under SC Law.

5. Deviation from the Standard Program Collection Site Distribution

Several Counties proposed deviations from the collection site distribution requirements in their proposed list of sites/events. Many of these involve substituting collection events for one permanent site. Deviations are noted in the final column and the Clearinghouse has provided email confirmations from the counties documenting these deviations.

6. Allocation Methodology Certification

ERRO has used the allocation methodology Section 48-60-61 to develop the adjusted total proportional responsibility for each manufacturer registered in 2024. To do so, the ERRO Administrator used collection data in reports from 2022 and Q1-Q2 data from 2023 as well as data from other states to estimate the split between monitors and TVs in the return stream. The final return share by category used in proportional responsibility calculations is shown below.

Product Category	Return Share Percentage 2024
Computer Monitors	10.0%
TVs	90.0%

After setting the return share by category, the ERRO compiled data from DHEC-provided manufacturer registration forms to set market share percentages by weight for each category. The adjusted total proportional responsibility was the product of the manufacturer's product category sales weight percentage and the corresponding 2024 return share percentage.

Example:

Manufacturer A -5% sales by weight in TVs, 10% sales in Monitors 5% TVs * 90% = 5.0% 10% Monitors * 10% = 1.0% Manufacturer A Responsibility: 5.0% + 1.0% = **6.0%**

After setting the manufacturer responsibility percentages, the ERRO Administrator requested that Group Plans provide preferences on existing County sites as well as data on retail and other private collection efforts. Using data from the Opt-In Forms and DHEC-reported data, the ERRO Administrator developed a County by County estimate of pounds to be collected in 2024 and matched the Group Plans to the counties by relative estimated volume. As described in the attached Rules document [Exhibit A], manufacturers and their groups are able to offset the number of Counties assigned to them by reporting retailer, curbside and other qualified private collection efforts. Any sites used for meeting county minimums are not included in the private programs.

7. List of Manufacturers Participating in the 2024 SC Clearinghouse

The following list of 34 manufacturers have registered for 2024 with South Carolina DHEC, signed Manufacturer Participation Agreements with the ERRO and joined a Group Plan to comply with the SC law through the ERRO Clearinghouse.

- 1) Acer America Corporation
- 2) Amazon.com Services LLC
- 3) Apple Inc.
- 4) ASUS Computer International
- 5) BenQ
- 6) Best Buy
- 7) Better Workspaces
- 8) Curtis International
- 9) Dell Marketing LP
- 10) Digital Products
- 11) Element TV Company, LP
- 12) Elitelux
- 13) Envision Peripherals
- 14) Funai Corporation, Inc.
- 15) Google LLC
- 16) Hisense USA Corp.
- 17) HP Inc.
- 18) JVCKENWOODS USA Corporation
- 19) Lenovo (United States), Inc
- 20) LG Electronics USA, Inc.

- 21) Lippert
- 22) MSI Computer Corp.
- 23) Planar
- 24) Razer
- 25) Samsung Electronics America Inc.
- 26) Sceptre, Inc.
- 27) Skyworth USA Corp.
- 28) Sony Electronics Inc.
- 29) SunBriteTV LLC
- 30) Westinghouse Electronics US
- 31) TTE Technology, Inc. dba TCL North America
- 32) Viewsonic
- 33) Vizio, Inc.
- 34) Wacom
- 35) Walmart

An additional seven manufacturers have registered and reported sales of TVs or computer monitors in other states, and may need to do so in South Carolina and potentially participate in the Clearinghouse:

- 1) Ingram Micro Private Label V7
- 2) iBuyPower
- 3) Meta/Facebook Technologies, LLC.
- 4) Netgear Inc.
- 5) Peerless
- 6) Seura
- 7) Sharp Electronics Corporation