Skip to content

DHEC has a new number for appointments at local health departments.
Please call 1-855-4-SCDHEC (1-855-472-3432).

May 6, 2015

2014 S.C. Environmental Awareness Award Call for Nominations

COLUMBIA, S.C. - The state of South Carolina is seeking nominations for an award to recognize individuals who are doing extraordinary work for the natural environment. Nominations will be accepted through June 12, 2015.

The S.C. Environmental Awareness Award, now in its 20th year, was established by the S.C. General Assembly during the 1992 legislative session to recognize outstanding contributions made toward the protection, conservation, and improvement of South Carolina's natural resources.

Each year the public is invited to submit nominations that are then reviewed by an awards committee. In judging nominees, the committee considers excellence in innovation, leadership, and accomplishments that influence positive changes affecting the natural environment.

Members of the awards committee represent the S.C. Forestry Commission, S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control, S.C. Department of Natural Resources, and S.C. Sea Grant Consortium. 

The 2013 Environmental Awareness Award winner Joseph R. Hamilton was honored for his efforts in wildlife conservation. He is the founder of the Quality Deer Management Association.

Previous winners of the Environmental Awareness Award include:

2013 - Joseph R. Hamilton, Founder of the Quality Deer Management Association
2012 - Thomas Kester, Chairman and Treasurer for the Conestee Foundation
2011 - Dr. Patricia J. DeCoursey, Professor of Biological Sciences at USC
2010 - Frank S. Holleman, III, President, Naturaland Trust 
2009 - Dr. Fred Holland, Coastal Ecologist, Charleston 
2008 - Benjamin Ziegler, Chairman, Pee Dee Land Trust 
2007 - Dr. Richard Porcher, Jr., Professor Emeritus, The Citadel 
2006 - Rick Huffman, Founder, South Carolina Native Plant Society 
2004 - John L. Knott, Jr., President, Noisette Company, North Charleston 
2003 - Burris Family, Owners, Cypress Bay Plantation Tree Farm, Beaufort 
2002 - Dr. Jack Turner, Director, Watershed Ecology Center, Univ. of South Carolina 
2001 - James D. Elliott, Jr., Founder, South Carolina Center for Birds of Prey 
2000 - Dr. Dave Hargett, Conservationist, Greenville 
1999 - Kenneth Strickland, Environmentalist, Florence 
1998 - Yancey A. McLeod, Jr., Environmental Educator, Eastover 
1997 - Brad Wyche, President, Friends of the Reedy River, Greenville 
1996 - Beaufort County Clean Water Task Force 
1995 - Dr. Whitfield Gibbons, Senior Research Ecologist, Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
1994 - Marion Burnside, Chairman, SC Department of Natural Resources 
1993 - Dana Beach, Executive Director, SC Coastal Conservation League 
1992 - Rudy Mancke, Naturalist, SC Educational Television

Nomination guidelines and application forms are available by calling Barbara Neale, at 843-953-0245. For a copy of the application form, you can also click here.



Cassandra Harris
Public Information Officer