Skip to content

DHEC has a new number for appointments at local health departments.
Please call 1-855-4-SCDHEC (1-855-472-3432).

Groundwater Use and Reporting in Capacity Use Areas - Overview

The Groundwater Use and Reporting Program issues Groundwater Use Withdrawal Permits to all groundwater systems located in a designated Capacity Use Area. Current capacity use areas are: Low Country (Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper counties), Pee Dee (Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion, Marlboro, Williamsburg counties), Trident (Berkeley, Charleston, and Dorchester) and Waccamaw (Georgetown and Horry counties). Groundwater withdrawal permits are required to withdraw and use groundwater equal to or greater than three million gallons in any month in the counties in these areas.

Beginning January 1, 2001, the intention to install any well that will withdraw 3 million gallons or more of groundwater in any month or increase the rated capacity of an existing well in the Coastal Plain, but outside of a Capacity Use Area, must have a Notice of Intent provided to DHEC at least 30 days prior to drilling or initiating the action. Coastal Plain counties currently outside of a Capacity Use Area include all of Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun, Clarendon, Lee, Orangeburg, Sumter and those portions of Chesterfield, Edgefield, Kershaw, Lexington, Richland, and Saluda counties located in the Coastal Plain east or southeast of the fall line (as identified on best available geologic maps or contact us at the phone numbers below).

Groundwater withdrawers who withdraw and use groundwater equal to or greater than three million gallons in any month in the remaining counties of the state shall register their groundwater withdrawal and subsequent use with the department.


Each permit or permit application must comply with the construction, operation, and special conditions as set forth in R.61-113, Groundwater Use and Reporting Regulations.

Guidance Document and Reports

Guidance Document