Skip to content

Santee River

 The Santee River Basin (hydrologic units 03050111 and 03050112) is located in Sumter, Clarendon, Calhoun, Orangeburg, Williamsburg, Georgetown, Charleston, and Berkeley Counties and encompasses 1,249 square miles. The 5 watersheds extend through the Upper and Lower Coastal Plain and Coastal Zone Regions. The Santee River Basin encompasses 799,227 acres of which 33.0% is forested land, 30.8% is forested wetland, 15.8% is agricultural land, 11.2% is water, 5.6% is nonforested wetland, 3.4% is urban land, and 0.2% is barren land. There are a total of 1,828.3 stream miles, 73,008.6 acres of lake waters, and 5,441.5 acres of estuarine areas in the Santee River Basin.

The Santee River is formed from the confluence of the Congaree and Wateree Rivers and flows through Lake Marion. The river is diverted in lower Lake Marion and either flows out of the Santee dam or is channeled along a 7.5 mile Diversion Canal to fill Lake Moultrie. The waters flowing through the Santee dam are joined by the Rediversion Canal, which connects Lake Moultrie and the (lower) Santee River, and continues to the Atlantic Ocean via the South Santee River and the North Santee River.

For an overview of water quality in the Santee River Basin, download the Santee water quality assessment summary. Or click on a specific watershed below:


01- Santee River/Lake Marion


01 - Santee River/Rediversion Canal
02 - Santee River

03 - South Santee River
04 - North Santee River