Catawba River Basin Watershed

Contact your Catawba Watershed Manager .

The Catawba River Basin originates in North Carolina and flows into South Carolina. The South Carolina portion of the Catawba River Basin encompasses 1,487,114 acres and is subdivided into 11 watersheds or hydrologic units, which include the Catawba River Basin and the Wateree River Basin. The Catawba River Basin is subdivided into 7 watersheds and includes the Catawba River, Lake Wylie, Sugar Creek, Twelvemile Creek, Cane Creek, Fishing Creek, and Rocky Creek.

The Wateree River Basin is subdivided into 4 watersheds and includes the lowest portion of the Catawba River as it flows into Lake Wateree and together with Big Wateree Creek, forms the Wateree River. There are a total of 6,140 stream miles and 30,482 acres of lake waters in the South Carolina portion of the Catawba Basin.

For basin descriptions, facts, figures, and detailed maps download the complete Catawba Watershed Water Quality Assessment document or click on a specific watershed below. To learn more about the factors included in the Catawba Watershed document, download the Factors Assessed in Watershed Evaluations .

Catawba River - 03050101, 03050103 , Wateree River - 03050104

catawba River BasinCatawba RiverWateree River

Archived Watershed Water Quality Assessments


Pollution General Public