Groundwater Capacity Use Areas - Pee Dee

Capacity Use Program: The Pee Dee

On February 12, 2004, the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control Board, as established in Section 49-5-60, Capacity Use Designation, declared the whole of Darlington County, Dillon County, Florence County, Marion County, Marlboro County, and Williamsburg County as the Pee Dee Capacity Use Area.

Initial Groundwater Management Plan

The plan for the Pee Dee will guide the initial groundwater management strategy and provide direction for future groundwater management goals by evaluating, as data become available, the hydrologic, environmental, social, and economic impacts of groundwater withdrawals at various rates on the longterm sustainable levels for the aquifers of the Pee Dee Area. Sustainable development meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their needs and requirements.

The plan is available here.


Environment General Public