Skip to content
S.C. Emergency Medical Services
  • Effective June 24, 2013, our offices have relocated to 301 Gervais St, Columbia, SC, 29201

EMS Regional Councils

EMS Regional Councils map

To best meet the needs of South Carolina's 46 counties, four regional EMS councils were established based upon population and geographic patterns. These regional offices serve as liaisons to individual services and work on a contractual basis with DHEC's EMS division to provide training needs assessments and programs, technical assistance and assistance in administering grant-in-aid distribution. Each regional EMS office is guided by its own board of directors.

REGION I: Upstate EMS Council, Inc.
Serves Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg and Union counties.
Debbie Hession, Director
121 Interstate Drive, Suite 5-B
Greenville, SC 29609
Telephone: 864-289-0112
Fax: 864-289-0114

REGION II: Midlands EMS Management Association
Serves Abbeville, Aiken, Chester, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenwood, Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Richland, Saluda and York counties.
Chris Cothran, Director
3201 Leaphart Road
West Columbia, SC 29169
Telephone: 803-794-3940
Fax: 803-794-3941

REGION III: Pee Dee Regional EMS
Serves Chesterfield, Clarendon, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Sumter and Williamsburg counties.
Charles Stewart, Director
1314 West Darlington Street
Florence, SC 29501
Telephone: 843-662-5771
Fax: 843-662-9444

REGION IV: Lowcountry Regional EMS, Inc.
Serves Allendale, Barnwell, Bamberg, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Hampton, Jasper and Orangeburg counties.
John Todaro, Director
Telephone: 843-529-0977
Fax: 843-529-0460

For additional information, call (803) 545-4204