HIDA Reporting Requirements

S.C. Hospitals Must Report Healthcare-associated Infections (HAIs)

South Carolina's Hospitals Must Share Certain Infection Data

In 2006, state lawmakers passed the Hospital Infections Disclosure Act (HIDA). This law requires hospitals to report certain infection rates to the S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) and the public.

HIDA Reporting Requirements

South Carolina's Hospitals Must Share Certain Infection Data

Twice a year, hospitals are required to report infections that patients developed while being treated in the hospital.

HIDA Goals:
    • Promote better infection prevention practices in South Carolina
    • Give S.C. citizens and public health officials a way to measure the state's progress in reducing, and perhaps one day eliminating, hospital acquired infections.
What the HIDA Reports Reveal

South Carolina's HIDA reports give you a way to review and compare hospital infection rates for selected surgeries and procedures. You can search for each individual hospital's rates or you can view comparison reports for surgical procedures and central line infections by hospital patient care location.

Under HIDA, South Carolina acute care, long term acute care and inpatient rehabilitation hospitals are required to report:
Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infections (CLABSI) data for the following inpatient locations:

  • Adult and Pediatric Critical Care Locations
  • Adult and Pediatric Ward Locations
  • Adult and Pediatric Specialty Care Area Locations (i.e., hematology/oncology, bone marrow transplant, leukemia/lymphoma units)
  • Long Term Acute Care (LTAC) Critical Care Locations
  • Long Term Acute Care (LTAC) Ward Locations
  • Rehabilitation Ward Locations
  • NICU Level III locations
  • NICU Level II/III locations

 • Surgical Site Infections (SSIs) and related data for the following surgical procedure categories in acute care hospitals licensed by DHEC:

  • Colon surgeries (COLO)
  • Hip arthroplasties (HPRO)
  • Knee arthroplasties (KPRO)
  • Abdominal hysterectomies (HYST)
  • Coronary artery bypass grafts, chest incision only (CBGC)
  • Coronary artery bypass grafts, chest and donor incisions (CBGB)

 • Laboratory identified (labID) events for:

  • Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) bloodsteam infections (BSI)
  • Carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) for E.coli, Enterobacter and Klebsiella species
  • Clostridium difficile infections (CDI)
  • Ventilator Associated Events (VAE) for the following inpatient location categories:
    • Adult Critical Care Locations\
    • Adult Critical Care Long Term Acute Care Locations
    • Adult Critical Care Inpatient Rehabilitation Locations

Related Topics

U.S. Hospital Compare: This U.S. Department of Health and Human Services web site provides information on patient quality, including prevention and care of surgical site infections.


HAI Health General Public