Drug Control Renewals

Controlled Substances (COVID-19)

Due to the SC State of Emergency regarding COVID-19, The Bureau of Drug Control has extended the expiration date for SC Controlled Substances Registrations that are expiring on April 01, 2020, to April 30, 2020.

Fees may be paid by credit card or electronic check via the Payment Portal at https://web.sc.gov/dheconlineinvoicepaymentsystem/invoicegroupselection.aspx.

Regardless of how you pay the registration fee, the completed renewal application must be returned to our office for processing.

Your invoice number is located at the top left corner of the renewal application and begins with “DC.”

If you wish to pay by paper check, then the application and check must be submitted via regular US Postal Mail, FedEX, or UPS to either of the below addresses:

US Postal Mailing Address:
SC DHEC Financial Management
PO Box 100103
Columbia, SC 29202

Overnight Mailing Address:
SC DHEC Bureau of Drug Control
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201


 

 

NO GRACE PERIOD

The South Carolina Controlled Substances Act eliminates the registration grace period. Changes to the South Carolina Code of Laws Section 44-53-280 (C & D) were effective May 18, 2018.

Renewal Applications

* If you are attempting to renew an "active" (not expired) SC Controlled Substances Registration, please use the renewal application.

MDs, DOs and EMS Units: Renewal applications for these registrations are mailed during the third week of July.  Registrations must be renewed by October 1.

DMD, DDS, DVM, OD, APRN, PA-C, Pharmacies and All Other Registrants: Renewal applications for these registrations are mailed during the third week of January. Registrations must be renewed by April 1.

Renewal applications must be submitted by regular US Postal mail to the address on the application. To allow adequate time for processing, we recommend that you submit the renewal application at least 10 days prior to the expiration date.

IMPORTANT: We do not have an online renewal process. The link below is a .pdf document that must be submitted by mail.

If you have not received a renewal application, you may print a duplicate at the link below.

Renewal Application

What If My Registration Expires?

The registration of a registrant who fails to renew by April 1 or October 1, whichever is applicable, is canceled.

In order to reinstate an expired registration, a new application must be submitted with a payment of the registration fee plus a $100 penalty fee. Visit DHEC's New Registrations page. All applications must be submitted via regular US Postal mail to the Bureau of Financial Management. Processing time is approximately 12-15 business days.

Providers are not authorized to prescribe, administer, possess or dispense controlled substances until their SC Controlled Substances Registration is reinstated.

 

Tags

Drug Control Facilities Health Register Renewals